Belt for Sir Thomas de Kilbride, Kingdom of Atlantia

Soon after the Gulf War, Lady Annabella reached out to me with an exciting request: creating a unique belt for her spouse, Sir Thomas. Our paths crossed at Pennsic L, where they were bought a stunning silver buckle set from a merchant. Sir Thomas eagerly anticipated receiving the belt, knowing only that it would be white and what the buckle looked like.

Although I had limited interactions with Lady Annabella and had only briefly met Sir Thomas, I embraced the challenge to craft something they would be like. Without the usual cues and insights I gather when weaving for someone, such as their personality, preferences, and passions, I must admit I felt a hint of nervousness. Determined to overcome this, I decided to sketch out the belt design and present it to Lady Annabella for her approval before proceeding with the weaving process.

A very basic graph done on Microsoft Excel to show the design. The grey lines are for the structure

It was approved!

40 hours, including patterning and warping
205cm / 80″, including hardware
41 tablets
2 wefts
White silk 20/2 by Dixie Weaver
Dark blue silk 20/2 by Treenway silks

Leave a comment