Modern fishies and a Karelian band for a Jaravellir

Jararvellir turned 50 a few weeks ago. I felt like making them something to celebrate this, so I did.

For the first band, I inspired myself from their heraldry:

Azure, on a fess between two catfish counternaiant Or a laurel wreath vert, as an augmentation on a canton argent a pale gules overall a dragon passant vert.

First I chose the colours. I decided to not include green nor the Midrealm colours because I had the feeling it would clash. I made a couple scribbles, determined my width and took it to town.

I chose to use a technique from Sulawesi. It’s is a fairly modern technique but there’s some components of it that are seen in older techniques. Each pattern tablets have 2 dark blue threads, one light blue and one yellow. The goal here is to have the design in gold with the dark blue lining the gold. The 2 blues will form little lozenges on the background giving dimension.

Finished!

142 cm / 4’8″ without fringe.

A little on the short side but so were my resources.

I still had 6 days left before the event and a bit of silk left. I warped another project.

12 tablets.
kaukola kekomäki band # 376 from the Finnish iron age.

Finished everything with plenty of time left to spare (but no resources for a 3rd band)

Leave a comment