Chivalry belt

Now that it has been gifted I can make an entry.

On our way back from Rise of the Pheonix war I asked my Knight if I could weave him a belt. He agreed. He sent me the length he needed, the width for some hardware he had and we determined what historical piece was the inspiration. I had a white silk that I’ve spun some years ago, it was spun with the intention to weave a knight’s belt with it one day. The other 2 colours were bought from my Laurel a while ago.

I was excited but still a bit nervous as this was my first brocaded piece and my second structural one (see my entry about my first chiv belt).

I gifted the belt last week. It was well received and I have no doubt that it will be cherished.

• 45 tablets (4 borders, 41 pattern),
• Silk, 3 colours (bought: walnut and silver, handspun undyed),
• Threaded following ZZZZZ, SSSSS tablet direction,
• Threads all S spun direction,
• Structural weave and lozenge patterns inspired by King Philip of Swabia’s belt (12th C.). Original has over 60 tablets and contrasting colours. Modified tablet count to fit 34mm wide belt fittings and colour palette to respect chivalry regalia,
• Lettering and other brocade from the Cod. Pal. Germ 551 ( https://digi.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/diglit/cpg551/0001/image,info,thumbs ) (started 1424 but not compiled until 1471, probably finished before 1525 when the monastic institutions of Nuremberg were abolished and disolved)

Leave a comment